First ever blog post – here I go!

 

I’m taking a blogging course right now and this post – right here, right now – is today’s assignment – yikes.

I’m feeling super reluctant to get started due to my lack of experience as a blogger and huge feelings of inadequacy as a “writer”.   The last time I wrote was on graduating high school a mere 35 years ago – and even that was a “B” not an “A”.  I don’t feel fully satisfied with my “set-up” of my blog page and feel like a cat in water on this “WordPress” blogging set-up site.  However  I was told to do this, “jump in” she said – here I am, jumping……….

Today I’m struggling with my “empty nester syndrome” with the recent end of my temporary full-house. My lovely Big Brother came to visit from the U.K. (I’m in Canada), and my eldest kid – M. came from across the country and surprised me for my birthday. Hubby was home from a tour of work overseas, and youngest kid – L . was off work and home for Easter.  So wonderful  – a Full Nest.  But it’s now empty again – apart from me and my trusty Dachshund – Stan.

Today, I’m feeling blue.  I guess my state of mind today is very relevant to my Blog Name – “The Evolving Empty Nester”, so I should really “grab the bull by the horns” as the saying goes.   I guess the whole of my life from now on is relevant and not just a day when I feel blue.  There will be ups, and there will be downs as there are in every stage of life.  But today, this is my feeling.  Maybe more of a purplish-blue feeling.

Interesting that I just wrote that, and then my next thought was to look for a photo to attach to this post and found this lovely one of myself and Big Bruv (and Stan lurking behind in the shadow) on his last day here.  M. snapped this shot of us in amongst these gorgeous purple Springtime flowers, and they are the colour of my feeling today.  They were spread out like a blanket inviting a photo opportunity to be had.  Today I noticed some of these very same flowers starting to thread their way across my garden slope and they reminded me of M. and Big Bruv and brought a smile to my face and a melancholy feeling in my heart.

IMG_9502

 

Tomorrow’s another day and I will go searching for multiple shades of yellow daffodils – the colour of sunshine and brightness.

Cheers lovelies!

Kim

 

One thought on “First ever blog post – here I go!

Leave a Reply

